top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekvaughan

Weekly Recap: lots of coffee, Zelda, good food, picnics, & sparking joy

Hi friends! So, I asked on Instagram if you guys would like to see weekly recaps of my life, and you said yes! So, here's a quick recap of what happened this week.



I'm currently waiting to start training for my new job, so the past few weeks have been a time for resting, catching up on cleaning, decluttering, and organizing the house, and visiting friends and family. I'm a bit of a homebody anyway. I really enjoy being home and being productive here. So, I am trying to use this time at home well and enjoy every bit of it before I start work again. Let's get into the week.

Monday was spent sleeping in, cleaning, and resting. Tuesday I started my blog! Both days were spent mostly at home. Dakota and I had lunch together on Tuesday at one of our favorite places that serves Japanese Hibachi. I didn't document the food, but there was a ton of it and we were able to eat off of it for the next two days. We like to meet for lunch during the week, because it's a change of pace and a way to spend just a little more time together. Because we are unable to go on them often, our lunch dates are pretty special. :)


Wednesday was spent going to the post office, visiting some friends, and going on a coffee date with my friend Anna at Equinox Coffee. I'm basic so I got a caramel latte and they put it in this cute house mug. I love when coffee shops/cafes use random mugs to serve their drinks- I just think it adds uniqueness!

My sister-in-law, nieces and nephews were in town, so we went to Walk-On's Bistreaux & Bar for dinner. I'm new to the blogging thing so I forgot to take a picture of my dinner. lol. But I got a grilled chicken sandwich and fries, and it was delicious. Dakota and the kids played cornhole outside of the restaurant after dinner, which ended in a monkey in the middle kind of thing. haha


Thursday was spent at home, and it was so nice. I worked on my blog, had some breakfast, and relaxed by playing some video games. I have recently started playing The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, because my husband is obsessed and wants me to love it as much as he does. haha. But I also have wanted to play to see what all the hype is about, and it is honestly so frustrating but so fun. Thursday morning I played some and ended up getting stuck on a certain part so I quit for the day. I enjoy video games, but I can only sit and play for so long before I have to get up and do something else. I can definitely appreciate them, though. I'm really enjoying Zelda so far!

Thursday's breakfast consisted of everything bagels, cream cheese, blueberries and strawberries, and coffee. It was delicious. I've recently discovered these bagels, and they are definitely becoming a favorite. Thursday was definitely a coffee day. I had just a few cups.. and by a few I mean 4. But like do we really measure by the mug size or the measurements on the carafe? If we are going by the mug, then I only had 2 cups.. My dad got me this amazing pecan coffee from Texas, and that has been my go-to lately. I will either drink it black or with one Splenda and a little half & half or a flavored creamer if I'm feeling fancy. One of my sisters-in-law got me this Cuisinart coffee pot for my bridal shower gift, and I LOVE it. The time shown on its clock is wrong because I unplugged it the other day and haven't changed it. So... ignore that. lol.



The rest of Thursday was spent decluttering some of my clothes, jewelry, and makeup. A few years ago I started adopting more of a minimalist lifestyle, and I definitely plan on writing about minimalism, intentional living, and how that has affected my life on this blog. So, I've been decluttering and surrounding myself with things I love for a few years now, and I've learned that it is something you have to maintain. I like to go through my things and just check in with myself on what I'm loving, what makes me feel good, etc. So Thursday I got rid of some stuff. Now, I am not a minimalist by any means. I adopt a lot of the minimalist mindset, but you won't see me living with one spoon and sleeping on the floor if I don't have to. I prefer to live a different way, but by no means do I judge someone who prefers to only have one spoon and sleep on the floor. To each their own. Anyway, I have a big bag of things I no longer want or need and I'll be taking them to the local animal shelter thrift store soon! Decluttering always leaves me feeling better. Do you declutter your home? Is it something you have found beneficial? I'd love to know!


I have sort of created a habit of nighttime tea. Dakota and I usually end the day with an episode of Bones and cuddles on the couch. The hot tea calms me and gets me ready for bed. Anytime I don't feel well mentally, emotionally, or physically, I like to drink a hot beverage. There is something so soothing about it- especially in the colder months. I mostly drink hot green tea with honey, but I also love Earl Grey, English Breakfast, and Irish Breakfast. I want to try out some more blends. Leave your favorites in the comments below!

this mug was a gift from my mom. fun fact about me: I absolutely love Halloween!

Friday was another pretty chill day, and it began with some french press coffee and writing. I pretty much just took the day to get housework done. Another fun fact about me: I hate washing dishes. haha and Friday was spent washing quite a few dishes. For lunch I had a small salad and topped it off with this delicious yogurt ranch dressing. I always overdo it and accidentally add too much dressing to my salads- its tasty, though.




When Dakota got home from work we hung out some and then I started on dinner. I really enjoy cooking, so I do most of it. We have this great thing going that whoever cooks doesn't have to clean after. So, I made spaghetti with lean hamburger meat, pasta sauce, green bell peppers, mushrooms, lots of seasoning, and noodles. I always like to add vegetables when cooking spaghetti to add more nutrients and substance! We decided to have a movie night, so we ate dinner and watched Couples Retreat- it was hilarious and now we want to take a vacation to a tropical island.


Saturday was by far the best day of the week. Dakota surprised me with a picnic at the State Park! It was so peaceful and beautiful there. He was so sweet and packed us a lunch complete with grilled cheese sandwiches, apples and peanut butter, bananas, and oreos and milk for dessert. It was the perfect start to the day.

We left the park and headed downtown where we wound up at a Maker's Market. There were booths filled with handmade jewelry, woodworking, tea blends, and other crafts. There was also live music and food. It was a pleasant surprise and I got a really good tea blend.

We decided to grab an early dinner since we were out and decided on The Salad Station, which is a new place in town that we have been wanting to try. It was delicious! Definitely a new favorite of ours. I got a salad and soup and Dakota got a wrap. All of the ingredients were so fresh and so good. There was even enough of mine to take home.

We ended the day by relaxing at home and playing some more Zelda. I'm thankful for this weekend and my sweet husband.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page