top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekvaughan

Charlotte so far... Whitewater Center, coffee, & food

Hey friends! I hope you are having a wonderful day. The weather has been sooo nice lately. I love rain and cool weather. Something about both just makes me so happy. Rainy weather is the best when you are home or in a coffee shop cuddled up with a good book and some hot coffee or tea. Anyone else agree? It's just cozier that way.


Anyway, enough about the weather- small talk is weird. So, since we have been in Charlotte, we have been able to explore a bit and I wanted to share that with you all. Let's start with coffee, because duh. I haven't been able to try all of the local shops I have on my radar yet, but the ones I have tried I've really enjoyed. When Dakota and I visited last year we went to Amelie's, and it is by far one of my favorite places in Charlotte. Their macarons are delicious!

I just got an iced coffee and put a little half & half in it!



Last night I visited Smelly Cat coffee in NODA, a really cool district in Charlotte, and it was so cute. Anything "Friends" themed- I'm here for it. This time I went for an iced caramel latte.

One of the reasons I love NODA is because it is covered in really cool art and has so many interesting and unique shops! We grabbed dinner at Crepe Cellar, gelato from Popbar, and walked around for a while. We had a great time!

Speaking of dessert, we also got to try Golden Cow Creamery a few weeks ago, and it was delicious! I got classic chocolate and strawberry, and Dakota got salted cookies and cream. Mine was better. ;) The weather was really nice, so we ended up walking around for a bit while we ate our ice cream. I definitely want to go back soon.

Some of our family got to visit a few weeks ago, and we had so much fun! One of mine and Dakota's favorite breakfast places in Charlotte is Famous Toastery, so of course we had to take them there! I completely forgot to take a picture of my breakfast, so I snapped a picture of my mom's. Both were delicious.

One of the funnest things we have done since we moved to Charlotte was go to the Whitewater Center. We went with our family when they were in town, and despite the thunderstorm making everything shut down right when we got there, we had a blast. We went whitewater rafting and ziplining. Unfortunately, because of the thunderstorm cutting our time short, we didn't get to do some of the other things but we still had so much fun! The Whitewater Center is so beautiful and I highly recommend going if you are in the area or planning a vacation!


Another favorite of ours is Freedom Park- it's so beautiful and peaceful. I brought our family while they were here and we rented bikes and rode around the park. Dakota and I also visited a few days ago to get in some exercise and just spend some time outside. I'm always a fan of spending as much time as possible outside, and Freedom Park is beautiful

There's still a lot we want to do before we leave, and hopefully I'll get to document everything! We've learned a lot from our time here, and I'm really grateful for that.


I hope you have the best day! I promise that I will be blogging more-things have just been really crazy lately. There's still so much I want to talk about and address on this blog, and I really appreciate you for taking the time to read it!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page