top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekvaughan

Coffee & Nutter Butters

On Sunday, March 24, 2019, my great grandmother passed away. She was 100 years old, and quite possibly the sweetest woman I've ever met. We called her "Mimmy". She and I were very close, and even though I've lived two and a half hours away from her for the past five years, we talked frequently and visited every time I was home. I would go to her house and we would have coffee and Nutter Butters cookies. Mimmy had a small tin full of Nutter Butters at all times, and somehow they always tasted better at her house than anywhere else. I now have a pack at my house, and I had some with my coffee this morning. They just aren't as good here. Mimmy had a way of making everything better. When I was born my mom named me after my Mimmy. Her last name was Grace, and that is my middle name. I've always loved it, and I love it even more now. It somehow makes me feel more connected to her, which is what I find I need more now that she is gone. I've been told that Mimmy made quite a few delicious recipes over her many years. My mom's favorite is Mimmy's red salad, and mine and my dad's is her spiced tea. I am so thankful that I got her spiced tea recipe from her, so now I can make it for every Christmas as she did. My sweet friend Emily actually made it for me to serve at mine and Dakota's wedding. It made the day so much more special. I will forever miss her. I'll miss her hugs, her sweet voice, sitting with her on her sun porch drinking coffee and eating Nutter Butters, and her positive outlook on life.


Her name was Lillie Mae Grace. She lived for 100 years on this earth, and when asked how she lived so long her response was always, "Love the Lord and be happy." Every time we would talk about life, school, my relationship with my now husband, my career, etc., she would listen, give advice when she felt it was needed, and always tell me just to be happy in whatever I do. So, for my Mimmy, I will be happy. I will strive for happiness in life because life is short and fleeting.




I got a tattoo of a Lily flower on my wrist in honor of my Mimmy. Now every time I look at it I am reminded of her, and I feel as if I always have a piece of her with me.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page