top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekvaughan

Feeling Unsettled

I recently had an amazing opportunity to work as an event space interim manager. Not even remotely related to my field - I know. However, that job taught me so much about myself and placed some really amazing people into my life. I absolutely loved the building, the history behind it, and my work family. I got the job knowing that in 6 months I would be leaving. I was to help with the transition period and made it clear that come January my husband and I would be moving to Charlotte, NC. Well, as my mother always says, "Make a plan and watch God laugh at you", and that is what seemed to happen. The job opportunity in Charlotte didn't work out, and I was asked to go to Raleigh, NC for an interview. I was reluctant to go because of the job's schedule and location, but my husband and I drove the 13 hour trip to Raleigh the first weekend of December. The interview wasn't as bad as I thought it would be, but I still left feeling discouraged. Due to a winter storm, our trip was cut short and we ended up driving through the night to get back home. The entire experience really got me down. The following week I was tired, angry, discouraged, confused, and resentful. I didn't want to go to another interview for another job that would make me feel that way. So, I put in for the permanent position at my current job. You see, I have a problem with making decisions based on emotion. It's something I am working on. I am a very logical and objective person, but when it comes to certain things I let my emotions rule me. That is exactly what I did there. As soon as I put in for the permanent position I felt unsettled and unsure. I long for more travel and experience. There is nothing in this small town for my husband and myself, aside from our family. We both long to go and live in different places and experience more.

Well, as expected, I didn't get the job in Raleigh. Our plans to move had come to a halt, because we figured out that moving without a job and money is quite difficult. I was still working as the interim venue manager and actively pursuing jobs in my career field. As the end of January was approaching I had no plans for after the interim period was over. I had been training a wonderful person to take my place as the venue manager, my husband and I had no plans to move, and I hadn't received one interview invitation from any of the jobs I had applied to. I was freaking the hell out. On my last day, I was hired to work at a new Swedish cafe opening soon in the same building as the event space I had managed. I was so excited to have a job at this amazing new cafe, but I was also a little discouraged because it wasn't a job in my career field. I'm still having a hard time just being content with where I am and embracing this new and exciting job as an opportunity to learn more and be in a positive environment. I'm trying, though. I'm trying to not feel unsettled and to let life take me where it may. I'm trying to use every experience as a learning opportunity and to be happy with where I am while working towards being a better me. Maybe that is what this blog is going to be- a way to be happy with where I am while working on being the best version of myself.


I say all of this to say: it's ok to feel unsettled and unsure, but don't let that rule you. Feel it. Embrace it. And move forward. Trust in the process and learn from everything you can. The trip to Raleigh may not have resulted in a job, but it was a mini vacation for me and my husband and we had a good time. The job as the venue manager may not have been in my career field, but I learned so much and loved my time there. We may not have moved to Charlotte, but that doesn't mean we won't. My goal is to be happy with where I am and have patience with where I am headed.

 

Just some pictures from our quick trip to Raleigh, NC. We got to eat at our favorite restaurant - The Famous Toastery.


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page