top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekvaughan

Taking A Breath

In the "About" section of this blog, I talk about how I created this idea of who I was supposed to be based on limitations I put on myself. I also based it off of the career I chose. For the past few years, I have gone back and forth between what I want to do with my life and what makes me happy. For the past 8 months, I have been applying for jobs in my career field, all to no avail. As I am sure most of you are aware, the job seeking process sucks. It is time-consuming and overall discouraging. Here I am with this 4-year degree that I was told would get me a job, and nearly every job in my field that I come across requires experience. Ok. I anticipated this. This is why I got a job working as a correctional officer at a county jail and completed an internship with a crime scene unit. That should count for something, right? Well, so far it hasn't. Now, I am not here to bitch and complain about the job seeking process, because I know that is exactly what it is - a process. I am here to tell you that after 8 months of sending in applications, a few rounds of interviews, and a few more rejection letters I have decided to take a break. Somehow in college, I seemed to have lost some of myself, and I am just now getting her back. I am exploring the creative side of me and figuring out what I like and what makes me happy. I am focusing on myself and my relationships and allowing myself time to breathe and just enjoy life. I have this really bad habit of trying to figure out my entire life in one day. My anxiety and impatience get the best of me and I feel like I have to figure everything out immediately. (I am working on that, too. ) So, a few weeks ago I made the decision to take a break from trying to figure out my whole life and just live. I want to explore and learn as much as I can and just be happy where I am. I want to find myself again, as cliche as that sounds. It all kind of started with the creation of this blog, and I am so thankful for it and for all of you who take the time to read it. I am honestly so excited to see where my life takes me and to learn more about myself. I have recently learned that it is ok to take a breath and just enjoy life where you are without having to be searching for the next thing, and when I made the decision to do just that I felt this immense weight lift off of me. I am challenging myself to not try to plan everything and figure everything out right now, and if you know me, you know that is very difficult for me. Life is short, and I don't intend on missing out on it trying to plan and figure everything out all at once. Who knows what will happen? Usually, change and uncertainty terrify me, but I am learning that those things can be so good. Just know that it is ok to take some time for yourself. Be happy. Enjoy life where you are. Embrace change and learn as much as you can in the process. You never know what amazing things could come out of it.




12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page